Department of Civil Engineering



The Department of Civil Engineering of the Osun State University is one of the two engineering departments under the College of Science, Engineering and Technology established in 2007/2008 academic session as part of the first phase of development of the University. B.Eng. degree programme in Civil Engineering was approved by the University Senate and Council in the 2007/2008 academic session. The first set of students was admitted into Part I of the programme in August 2007.

The Department runs a 5-year undergraduate programme, operating 2-semester course units in its curriculum to acquaint the students with the basic knowledge, practices and current advances in the field of Civil Engineering. Civil Engineering is concerned with the planning, design, construction, maintenance and environmental impact of buildings, roads, airports, waterways, railways, bridges, tunnels, docks, offshore structure, dams, water supply, drainage and irrigation systems/schemes, and other major works.
The programme in civil engineering is therefore designed to produce engineers that can meet the challenges in the afore-mentioned areas through service in governmental agencies/establishments, the building and construction industry, transportation industry, consulting firms, teaching and research organizations. The two semesters in the calendar of the University, tagged Harmattan and Rain), each has 17-18 weeks duration. The programme leads to the awards of Bachelor of Engineering (B. Eng.) degree in Civil Engineering.

The academic programme of the Department operates academic curricular that are tailored along the stipulations contained in the National Universities Commission (NUC) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards and as required by the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria, COREN. The curricula for the programme are being regularly revised. The last revision took place in 2017 to bring the programme contents in line with Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards (BMAS) by the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN) and National Universities Commission (NUC). The department is currently working on another revised version of the program to meet the national and international trends in the programme of Civil Engineering.

At the outset, the Department of Civil Engineering was headed by Prof Clement W. Adegoke. The new Department of Civil Engineering was approved by the National Universities Commission. During the past 10 years of the existence of the Civil Engineering programme at Osun State University, the department has produced over 200 graduates. While many of these graduates are currently doing well in government and private establishments, many have since obtained higher degrees and are in various institutions as members of faculty. The department has the culture of retaining its best-performing students. Those in industries and private establishment are holding very senior positions in the public and private sectors of the economy; Directors, Managers, Managing Directors, Chief Engineers, University Lecturers, and State Commissioners.


1. In Osun State University, Civil Engineering is broader than most of the other engineering programmes and it is divided into the following specialized areas: Geotechnical engineering, Transportation and Highway engineering, Construction engineering, Hydraulics engineering, Sanitary engineering and Structural engineering.
2. The aim of running Civil Engineering programme is to produce graduates who are to function effectively in public service, industries, planning, design, construction and management of facilities such as highway, roads, rural and urban water supply, traffic control systems, building, bridges, sanitary and sewage treatment and disposal systems, airport and transportation systems, tunnels, dams, canals, and waterways.
3. The programme consists of lectures, tutorials, laboratory and field works, projects and practical training in industries. The first two years of a 5-year programme is devoted to taking basic science and general engineering courses to give broad-based engineering education. From the third year, most of the courses taken are core courses in the various areas of Civil Engineering.

Mission Statement
The mission of the civil engineering program is to provide students with a broad and thorough education in civil engineering fundamentals, applications, and design that prepares them for the practice of civil engineering at the professional level with the confidence and skills necessary to meet the technical and social challenges of the future. The program provides a broad and thorough education in mathematics, physics, chemistry, engineering mechanics, and civil engineering, coupled with application of modern engineering tools. Graduates will attain the skills for entry-level civil engineering positions leading to professional engineering registration, and will have a solid undergraduate foundation in general civil engineering principles, enabling continued education at advanced levels.

Vision Statement
The civil engineering program will serve the nation by providing a quality engineering education that enables students to enter a profession that can improve the civil infrastructure, and economic welfare. Our civil engineering program will maintain a strong emphasis on undergraduate education with the goal that our program will be recognized for quality instruction in civil engineering analysis and design. An important emphasis of the civil engineering program is preparation of students for professional engineering licensure and practice, and we expect that most of our students will pursue this objective following graduation.


1 Professor O. J. Alamu Professor
2 Professor M. O. Omoigui Professor
3 Professor O. A. Komolafe Professor
4 Dr. A. A. Bello Associate Professor
5 Dr. K. L. Abidoye Senior Lecturer
6 Dr. S. O. A. Olawale` Senior Lecturer
7 Dr. F. A. Oginni Senior Lecturer
8 Dr. F. O. Akintayo Senior Lecturer
9 Dr Hussein Mohammed Senior Lecturer
10 Dr. H. Lasisi Senior Lecturer
11 Dr. O. B. Okedere
12 Dr. O. O. Fadipe Lecturer I
13 Dr. M. O. Lawal Lecturer I
14 Dr. A. T. Oriaje Lecturer II
15 Dr. K. O. Rabiu Lecturer II
16 Mr. K. Ishola Lecturer II
17 Mr. O. A. Olawuyi Lecturer II
18 Mr. M. A. Tijani Lecturer II
19 Mr. M. Kareem Lecturer II
20 Mrs. J. O. Adeosun Lecturer II
21 Mr. A. K. Adeyemo Graduate Asstistant
22 Mr. M.O. Thanni
23 Engr. A.U. Adebanjo Graduate Assistant

24 Engr. W. O. Oduoye Senior Technologist 
25 Mr. O. A. Alasi Senior Technologist 
26 Mr.   O. A. Olabiran Senior Technologist 
27 Engr. Olufemi O. Lawal Technologist I
28 Engr. Adigun T. Kasali Technologist I
29 Engr. M. Aderonke Olawale Technologist I
30 Engr. Moshood Oyewole Technologist I
31 Engr. I. O. Lamidi Technologist I
32 Surveyor Ibrahim K. Hassan Chief Surveyor

33 Miss. J. J. Olanipekun Conf. Secretary
34 Miss Lagbaja Bushirat Adebukola Head Office Assistant
35 Mrs Abosede Elizabeth Samson Head Office Assistant
36 Mrs. T. S. Olarinde Lab. Supervisor   

Level Advisers
500 Level Adviser - Dr. (Mrs) Fadipe O. O.
400 Level Adviser - Engr. Oriaje A. T.
300 Level Adviser - Engr. Olawuyi O. A.
200 Level Adviser - Engr. Ishola K.
100 Level Adviser - Engr. Adebanjo A. U. 

Get In Touch

For enquiries on admissions, please contact

  • Address: Room 228, Admission Office, 
    Administrative building, 
    Osun State University,
    Main Campus, Osogbo, Osun State.
  • Tel: 08107976419 (9am - 4pm WAT, Mon - Fri)
  • Email:
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…