Read 802 times 14 February 2024


Osun State University has led all other State-owned Universities in Nigeria by winning seven (7) Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) National Research Fund (NRF) grant in the 2023 grant cycle.


This information was made known by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor ‘Ayo Clement Adebooye, in a media interaction with pressmen on Monday, 29th January, 2024, at the Multipurpose Hall, Osogbo Main Campus.

The Vice-Chancellor divulged that of the one hundred and eight-five (185) successful research proposals pooled from the four thousand, two hundred and eighty-seven (4,287) proposals submitted by all public Universities and Polytechnics in the country, seven researchers from the University won the combined sum of one hundred and ninety-eight million, nine hundred and eighty-three thousand, one hundred and nineteen naira, seven kobo (198,983,119.07). They are:

  1. Dr. Toyese Najeem Dahunsi, of the Department of English and Literary Studies, who won N43,995,000.00 to conduct research on the project titled “A Francophone Cultural Enclave in Anglophone Yorubaland: Migration, Language and Cross-border Trade in Ejigbo, Nigeria”.
  2. Professor John Osayere Agbonifo, of the Department of Sociology, who won N30,000,000.00 to conduct research on the project titled “Mitigating Youth Restiveness in Nigeria (MiYouRest): Strengthening Local Forces of Peace for Community Resilience against Radicalisation towards Conflict”.
  3. Dr. Moromoke Nimota Raji, of the Department of Guidance and Counselling, who won N29,845,880.00 to conduct research on the project titled “Effects of Government Policies on the Economic Activities and Livelihoods of Women in the Southwestern States of Nigeria”.
  4. Dr. Adebola Oladiji Alaba, of the Department of Arts and Social Science Education, who won N29,500,000.00 to conduct research on the project titled “Design, Development, Implementation and Evaluation of Animated-Learning Package for Climate Change Education in Primary Schools”.
  5. Professor Onyegbula Chike Nwoke, of the Department of Agronomy, who won N22,345,229.19 to conduct research on the project titled “Exploring Novel Biochar-Compost Soil Amendment and Remediation Technology for Plant Health Improvement in Fadama Cropping Systems in Southwestern Nigeria”.
  6. Professor Caleb O. Akanbi, of the Department of Computer Science, who won N18,769,992.52 to conduct research on the project titled “Development of a LoRa-Based IoT Real-Time System for Smart Multi-Campus Waste Management in Nigeria”.
  7. Dr. Oyeyemi Wahab Adekunle of the Department of Physiology, who won N24,527,017.36 to conduct research on the project titled “Multi-Omics Approach to Heavy Metal Toxicity and Ameliorating Potential of Green Nanoparticles in Goldmining Areas”.

The Vice-Chancellor also reported that Dr. Abidoye Lukman Kolawole and his team of researchers won the Federal Government Artificial Intelligence Research Grant; Professor Olukoya Ogen and Professor Insa Nolte of the University of Birmingham won the KEO-ERC funded Post-Research Activities and Sustainability Award, worth 35,000 Euro; Dr. Olumayowa Kayode won the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society (MDS) Training Grant; and Dr. Mrs. Olajumoke Akiode won the prestigious Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) Gender Programme Grant.

The Vice-Chancellor further charged the beneficiaries to use the funds for the purpose of the awards and further admonished them to build a reputation scholarship productivity and integrity for themselves and the University.

Get In Touch

For enquiries on admissions, please contact

  • Address: Room 228, Admission Office, 
    Administrative building, 
    Osun State University,
    Main Campus, Osogbo, Osun State.
  • Tel: 08107976419 (9am - 4pm WAT, Mon - Fri)
  • Email:
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…