College of Agriculture

Read 7351 times

Welcome Address/Introduction

prof patience fakolade22Prof. Patience FAKOLADE
Provost, College of Agriculture

The College of Agriculture was established in 2007 alongside other Colleges in Osun State University. The College took off at the inception of academic activities in the University in 2007/2008 with its first set of students (23 in number) in the College of Science, Engineering and Technology, Main Campus, Osogbo for their 100-level courses. The College presently is having a little less than a thousand students on campus.


The College of Agriculture is located in Ejigbo. The town is located along the border between Oyo and Osun State. The College is currently having two (2) Faculties with Seven (7) Departments having students admitted into their programmes.

The College was bifurcated into these two Faculties in the year 2021, namely: 

  1. Faculty of Agricultural Production and Management.
  2. Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources Management.

 Faculty of Agricultural Production and Management has four programmes which are;

  1. Agric. Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness Management.
  2. Agric. Agricultural Extension and Rural Development.
  3. Agric. Agronomy.
  4. Agric. Animal Science.

Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources Management, has three Departments

  1. Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management.
  2. Wildlife and Ecotourism Management.
  3. Forestry Management

The academic staff strength is currently thirty-three (33) with six (6) Professors in the Departments. The entire members of the academic staff are Ph.D. holders. On the other hand, there are one hundred and two (102) non-teaching staff comprising registry, bursary, works, technical and security staff. 

Vision of the College

The College of Agriculture was envisioned to be a model institution providing excellent and high quality teaching and learning experiences which will engender the production of graduates with entrepreneurial spirit of excellence and globally competitive capabilities.

Mission of the College

The College of Agriculture has a mission to be an institution that is technologically and professionally sound, committed to the pursuit of academic innovation and skills- based training / entrepreneur skill in Agriculture and Natural resources management and set the pace and tradition of excellence in teaching, research and community service.

Physical Development

The Directorate of Works and Physical Development continues to supervise on-going physical development projects which include approach road construction, health centres, classrooms complex, ICT Centre, Library building, laboratories complex, sports arena and facilities and farm structures. A feed mill factory, centres for Apicultural Research, Teaching and Research Animal farm, Training and Honey Production, centre for Agricultural Extension and Outreach Services, Weather Station and a comprehensive landscape design project, tree planting, etc.

The desire to create a model Agricultural College has driven the tempo of physical development at Ejigbo Campus.

Research Activities

Basic and applied research in agriculture and rural development are embarked upon by members of academic staff in the College. Areas of research coverage include Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Extension, Agronomy, Horticultural Science, Animal Science, Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management, Wildlife and Ecotourism Management, Forestry Management /Environmental Resources Management, Cooperative and Agribusiness Management, Home Science, Hospitality Management, Agricultural Journalism, Agricultural Media Resources Development etc.

Research facilities being developed include:

Teaching and Research farm

Experimental field

Nursery Plantation

Tree Plantation

On station demonstration

Green house establishment and production

Integrated rural development project

Agricultural media resources /Audio –visual laboratory

Teaching and Research Departmental laboratories

Teaching and Research laboratory complex

Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

College and Departmental libraries


Uniosun Journal of Agriculture and Renewable Resources (UJARR)

Grants and Awards:

Grants and Awards won will be listed under each faculty.

Community Empowerment Service Project:

The College establishes centers and project for community empowerment and outreach service project. These are:


The centre packages and disseminate research findings as well and improved technologies for adoption and people’s empowerment at community level.


The centre for established a 100 Beehive apiary for honey production and operated an agricultural and research and training laboratory. It produces high quality pure natural honey called UNIOSUN HONEY and organizes entrepreneurial skills development training to present Bee-keepers and honey producers.


Establish to promote ownership of livestock and animal production enterprises by interested individuals.

Get In Touch

For enquiries on admissions, please contact

  • Address: Room 228, Admission Office, 
    Administrative building, 
    Osun State University,
    Main Campus, Osogbo, Osun State.
  • Tel: 08107976419 (9am - 4pm WAT, Mon - Fri)
  • Email:
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…