College of Health Sciences

Read 23623 times


The College of Health Sciences is one of the pioneer Colleges of Osun State University, established at the inception of the University in September, 2007. Although the College has accreditation by the National University Commission to offer MBBS degree, the program was suspended during the 2012/2013 academic session due to lack of dedicated teaching hospital.

The College currently offers B.Sc Anatomy, Physiology, Public Health and BNSc in Nursing Science. Following the donation of dedicated teaching hospital to the University by the Chancellor, the MBBS programme has also been restored.

The College took off with the pioneer Provost as the only academic staff, but by the second year, it had two Professors and eight Lecturers and Assistant Lecturers to handle Basic Medical (Pre-Clinical) Science programmes. The College now has four Professors, two Associate Professors, eight Senior Lecturers, other Lecturers and Assistant Lecturers. The academic staff is supported by a College Secretary, Technologists, Faculty Officers, Senior Laboratory Assistants, laboratory Attendants and Clerical Officers.

There are functional laboratories in the College that serve the academic programmes of the Departments. The laboratories are well equipped to cope with the teaching of students and researches of the academic staffs.
Classrooms and Lecture rooms are adequate and comfortable for teaching.

The B.Sc Anatomy, Physiology, Public Health and BN.Sc Nursing Science registered in the College offer same courses as their colleagues in the Science Faculty at 100 level, but start to offer courses in relevant disciplines from the 200 level.
Presently the College consists of the following faculties:

1. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences consisting of the following departments:
Medical Biochemistry

2. Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences consisting of the following departments:
Chemical Pathology
Morbid Anatomy & Histopathology
Medical Microbiology & Parasitology
Haematology and Blood Transfusion

3. Faculty of Clinical Sciences consisting of the following departments:
Community Medicine
Internal Medicine
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Ear, Nose and Throat
Nursing Science

The academic programme of the College operates academic curricula that are tailored along the stipulations contained in the National Universities Commission (NUC) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards and the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria.

Get In Touch

For enquiries on admissions, please contact

  • Address: Room 228, Admission Office, 
    Administrative building, 
    Osun State University,
    Main Campus, Osogbo, Osun State.
  • Tel: 08107976419 (9am - 4pm WAT, Mon - Fri)
  • Email:
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…