Department of Animal Science

dept-of-animal-scienceThe Department of ANIMAL SCIENCE is one of the pioneer Departments in the College of Agriculture of Osun State University, established at the inception of the University in September, 2007. The Department contributes to the B. Agric. Degree programme of the College.
Currently, there are three functional laboratories in the College that serve the academic programme of the Department. The laboratories are well equipped to cope with the teaching of students and for the use of academic staff for research purposes.
Classrooms and Lecture rooms are shared with other Departments in the College.
The students registered in the Department offer same science courses at the 100 level as their counterparts in the College of Science, Engineering & Technology but start to offer courses in their chosen disciplines from the 200 level. At the 400 level Rain Semester, all students in the Department are required to proceed on six-months Student Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES) as part of their graduation requirement.
The academic programme of the Department operates academic curricular that are tailored along the stipulations contained in the National Universities Commission (NUC) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards.

The philosophy of the Department is in tandem with that of the College, which is to develop graduates with all round knowledge in theory, technology and practice in order to become effective leaders, managers and operators in the agricultural and natural resources management industries. Also, the College programmes and services are to be consciously targeted at boosting the capacity and efforts of farmers in Osun State in particular and Nigeria in general, with a view to making Osun State the food basket of the nation. In addition, the College is to engage in rigorous research, extension, outreach and development support services that will contribute to local, national and global efforts in tackling food crisis.

The objectives of the degree programmes of the UNIOSUN College of Agriculture, Ejigbo campus are to:
(i) provide opportunity for the acquisition of comprehensive education, skill training and practical experience in Agriculture, Rural Development, Home Science and Management, and Renewable Natural Resources Management;
(ii) ensure socio-economic relevance of the academic programmes of the college with particular reference to the capacity of graduates for self-employment, the needs of employers of labour and the requirements of postgraduates schools within and outside the country; and
(iii) enable the College to serve as a Resource Centre for the expansion of knowledge through research, extension and outreach services in Agriculture, Rural Development, Home Science and Management, and Renewable Natural Resources Management.


General Information

For admission into any of the first degree programmes of the University, a candidate shall be required to possess the following minimum qualifications:
1. Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or its equivalents with credit level passes in five (5) subjects at not more than two sittings. The candidate must also earn an acceptable score in the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME).
2. Candidates seeking admission by direct entry into the 200 level, must have at least five (5) O/L credits, two of which must be at Advanced Level or approved equivalents.

Departmental Admission Requirement

Inter and Intra Transfer
A candidate is accepted on transfer into the College only at 200 level if he/she has satisfied the UME entry requirement into the College and has not been withdrawn from the University. However, candidates running the Bachelor of Agriculture, Bachelor of Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Bachelor of Wildlife and Environmental Resources Management programmes could be allowed to transfer from one option to another within the programme at any point up to 400 level.

Post UTME Screening
All Candidates seeking admission into the University irrespective of their UTME scores shall be required to pass the University post UTME Screening test before being admitted.

Registration Procedure

(a) Students shall normally complete registration at the beginning of the semester.
(b) Any addition or deletion from the courses for which a student is formally registered must be made with the consent of the course coordinator.
(c) A student may be allowed to withdraw from a course by the course administrator before a third of lectures have been given. Such a student who withdraws after this time or who fails to sit for examination without reasons acceptable to the appropriate Faculty/College Board shall be deemed to have failed the course. A Grade point of 0F shall be recorded for the student in the course.
(d) Late registration in the course may be allowed with penalty of up to 4 weeks after the commencement of registration.

Duration of Degree Programmes
The minimum duration is 10 semesters for the Bachelor of Agriculture (B.Agric), Bachelor of Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Bachelor of Wildlife and Environmental Resources Management programmes. Direct entry candidates with ND/NCE and equivalents shall have minimum duration of 8 semesters while those with HND shall have minimum duration of 6 semesters. For the BSc Cooperative and Agribusiness Management degree programme, the minimum duration shall be 8 semester. The Direct entry candidates with ND/NCE/AL and equivalent qualifications shall have a minimum duration of 6 semesters while those with HND shall have minimum duration of 4 semesters.

Graduation Requirements
To qualify for the award of a degree of the Osun State University, a student is required to have:
(i) completed and passed the prescribed number of units including all compulsory courses specified by the University.
(ii) completed and met the standards for all required and optional courses.
(iii) obtained the prescribed minimum CGPA.


1. OLOREDE, Bayonle Emmanuel       Professor
2. FAKOLADE, Patience Olusola.         Dr. (Mrs.)
3. AJAYI, Bababunmi Alaba                  Dr.
4. ALABI, Banwo Oladimeji                   Dr.
5. ADEDIRE, Ayodeji Oluwatosin          Dr. (Mrs.)
6. OSUNKEYE, Olumuyiwa Jacob.       Dr.
7. AKINDURO, Victor Olabisi                Dr.
8. ALUKO, Oluwaseyi Phebian             Miss

scroll back to top