About Us

Osun State University is set up as a conventional, multi-campus University charged with the production of high quality, well–rounded, globally competitive and entrepreneurial graduates who are catalysts for rapid and sustainable socio-economic development of Osun State and Nigeria.

Following the approval by the National University commission on December 21, 2006, Osun State University (UNIOSUN) became the 30th State University and 80th in the Nigerian University system. Osun State University is a conventional University envisioned to be a centre of excellence through the provision of highly qualitative teaching and learning experiences which will engender the production of well-rounded entrepreneurial graduate capable of impacting positively on their environments while also being globally competitive.

Hence, our mission at UNIOSUN is to create a unique institution commited to the pursuit of academic innovation,skill-based training and a tradition of excellence in Teaching,Research and Community service.
UNIOSUN is a multi-campus institution operating collegiate system. There are seven colleges in six campuses located in six geographical zones of the state . These are

Making the Difference
UNIOSUN is striving to put in place within the shortest time possible unique academic programmes which shall among others include the following:

Hence, UNIOSUN is
• First University in Nigeria to mount local and overseas staff training before the commencement of academic
• First public University to take off within a year from its permanent sites;
• First University in south-western Nigeria to enjoy planned local government contribution to the funding of the university.

scroll back to top